Map of Rwanda

Rwanda is a landlocked country in the Great Rift Valley where the African Great Lakes region and East Africa converge. One of the smallest countries on the African mainland, its capital city is Kigali. Located a few degrees south of the Equator, Rwanda is bordered by UgandaTanzaniaBurundi, and the Democratic Republic of the Congo. It is highly elevated with its geography dominated by mountains in the west and savanna to the east, with numerous lakes throughout the country. The climate is temperate to subtropical, with two rainy seasons and two dry seasons each year. Rwanda has a population of over 12.6 million[8] living on 26,338 km2 (10,169 mi2) of land, and is the most densely populated mainland African country.

The population is young and predominantly rural, with a density among the highest in Africa. Rwandans are drawn from just one cultural and linguistic group, the Banyarwanda, although within this group there are three subgroups: the HutuTutsi and Twa. The Twa are a forest-dwelling pygmy people and are often considered descendants of Rwanda’s earliest inhabitants.

Rwanda is also known as “The land of a thousand hills”, it has five volcanoes, twenty-three lakes and many Rivers. Rwanda’s landscape is green and it is magnificent.


PresidentPaul Kagame
Population12.3 million (2018) World Bank
Official languagesKinyarwanda, French, Swahili, English



Volcanoes National Park
Kigali Genocide Memorial
Nyungwe Forest National Park
King’s Palace Museum
Akagera National Park
Lake Kivu